Publishing

Publishing– I really enjoyed taking a look at all the different forms of publishing this week. When students are able to publish their work on the net it may give them a greater sense of purpose, as well as add a chance for connection with other individuals besides the peers that they work with on a day to day basis.

Digital stories

I think that the digital stories are great to use especially with a younger classroom. It helps students to share their visions, and can also help with students specific learning styles. For a student that is an auditory and visual learning, it can be so much more beneficial to be able to not only see but hear their story come to life online. It can also be beneficial for students that are learning at a lower rate and may not have mastered the motor skills needed for using a hand writing utensil. Having digital stories allows students to either use their voice for their story, or they can’t type out their story.

After some research I came across Kathy Schrock’s blog that includes everything that you need to know about digital storytelling. Take a look at some of the links as I find them to be very beneficial.

The categories the she has listed include:

-Digital storytelling standards

-Classroom Ideas and Practices

-Assessment and Research

-Great Resources From Smart People

-Tools to Support Digital Storytelling

-Digital Storytelling Books

-Digital Storytelling Samples

Webquests

I love the idea of using webquests in the classroom. I think it is such a great tool to utilize to have to students be the centre of the learning inquiring all of the information. It is something that is very engaging to students in a world that is filled with so much technology. The following website has a few examples of webquests that have been specifically made for division I students. Even though some of the examples have specific links that students are looking at, I think it is useful for that age as they may need a little more assistance finding sources that are credible versus an older student that is able to inquire which websites to find the needed information on. (note the webquests are made for Maryland Learning Outcomes, but they give you idea on how webquests can work with younger grades.

Flipped Classroom

In theory I think that the flipped classroom sounds like a really great idea to ensure that students are not just absorbing information given to them, but that they are truly gaining an understanding for it. However I am not sure if it is realistic to have each student learning 100% of the content outside of the classroom. There are many outside factors that I think could prevent students from being able to complete the prior learning:

-Not having the proper resources (computer or connection to internet)

-Extracurricular commitments

-Unstable home lives

I also wonder how the flipped classroom would work if you were teaching in a school that had a no homework policy. Perhaps time could be set aside for one particular flipped lesson each week, and the day before would have a period allocated to students learning the content.

The second thing I thought about was how it would work to Flip an Elementary Classroom. The following information comes from Jon Bergmann and his advice on how to flip and Elementary classroom

Screen Shot 2014-11-04 at 6.43.18 PM

 

Significant Comment: http://shaylaeduc4764.weebly.com

2 thoughts on “Publishing

  1. Paige,

    First of all, excellent post! It was really nice to hear your thoughts on some of the various ways that publishing can play a role in a classroom setting. I’m glad to find that we share some of the same ideas! Thanks for sharing the link to Kathy’s blog, I found that very informative and will definitely be using it to help me use the concept of digital storytelling in my future classroom! Also, thank you for sharing the resource list for webquests! I have found that concept interesting and have actually done webquest activities in the past. They are something I am interested in trying in the future. The image you shared about flipping lessons is an excellent way to think about the idea. I have never thought about it like that before so I found it very interesting and helpful. I find the idea of a flipped classroom a little overwhelming and have a hard time imagining how I would do it, so breaking it down into a lesson is a much more manageable and approachable method. It’s certainly something worth looking in to. Have you ever considered or used the flipped classroom/lesson approach? If you have used it, how did it work? If you’ve considered it, what are some of your ideas for how to implement it and in what subject would you use it in?

    Thanks for the great post!

    Josh

    Like

  2. Thanks for you post Josh!
    In a sense I guess you could say that I have done a flipped lesson in Drama, where I had asked my students to go home look at a particular video or a style of performance, as well as look up other information on it. The style was Theatre for Young Audiences, and I even spent one portion of my class watching a specific example of what the style was and the techniques. Afterwards I had the students break off into groups and create a performance piece using the knowledge that they had gained beforehand. A number of students had not done any research at home, and were only able to use the resource that I had shown in class. From this experience I become hesitant to try using a flipped classroom as I think that without knowing 100% that each student will complete the pre work, you can end up having to do more work than intended by having to explain more, than if you had just incorporated it as part of your lesson.
    Paige

    Like

Leave a Reply

